Littleham, along with Landcross, is a small parish situated just outside of Bideford. According to http://www.devon.gov.uk/ the population in Littleham was 292 in 1801 and 302 in 1901. https://en.wikipedia.org states that in 2001 the population had increased to 394. Its history includes a fact that “In 1641/2 80 adult males signed the Protestation returns.” These were oaths to parliament to support the protestant religion. Whether these were signed under duress is another matter, but what it does tell us is that at that period of time the population of Littleham would have been probably about 160 (allowing for roughly an equal number of men and women).
It’s a small little hamlet that boasts quite a community centering around the village hall. Activities that take place there are film and gardening clubs, Tai Chi and a scout group. It has two churches, a Methodist chapel built in 1810 and St. Swithin’s church which dates back to the 15th Century.
On the outskirts of the hamlet is Hallsannery, a Georgian style mansion nestled in the countryside http://www.hallsannery.co.uk/. It was a field studies centre until 2012 when the current owners, Hannah and Charles Evans, took ownership from Hannah’s family. They then spent the next seven months refurbishing the building so that it is now a stunning wedding, holiday and corporate events venue.
The views of Bideford, and its surrounding countryside, from Littleham are stunning. Green rolling Devon hills, the river Torridge and of course Bideford’s two bridges.
Places to eat in Littleham, Devon
One thing that Littleham has though is a great pub – The Crealock Arms.